Hello, March

Standard

Hi, all. Some of you may have been wondering where I went. February was an absolutely atrocious month, involving pickpocketing, multiple car accidents, a show, and intense work/life drama (which I hope I’ll be able to discuss soon). Oh, and I was on crutches for a few weeks. To sum it up in pictures, it went something like this:

So, apologies for the absence, but unless you enjoy reading posts comprised completely of the letters “AAAAAAARGGGGGGGHHHHHH”, you should really be happy I’ve restrained myself till now.

Here’s what I’m reading to chase away those residual February blues:

Everyday Saints, Archimandrite Tikhon Shevkunov

The Art of Prayer, Igumen Chariton

Beauty for Ashes, Stephen R. Lloyd-Moffett (just purchased!)

How to Lead a Holy Life, Metropolitain Gregory Postnikov (entire text available here)

War and Peace, Leo Tolstoy, translated by Pevear and Volokhonsky (Kate and I are keeping each other accountable)

With the seventh grade, we’re about to start Okay for Now, by Gary D. Schmidt. I’m close to done with  Elder Ambrose of Optina, by Sergius Chetverikov. While at my friend’s house I started reading Lenten Lands, which is by C. S. Lewis’s stepson and apparently provided the inspiration for the film Shadowlands (which is awesome). I liked it, but didn’t find it as gripping as A Severe Mercy. I didn’t get far in enough to tell though.

I also recently finished the following:

Drama, Raina Telgemeier

The Name of the Wind, Patrick Rothfuss (this one was a reread- starting book two again!)

I found a lovely children’s book on the life of St. Christopher. Check out the publisher for more!

At any rate, I think I’m at a point where I can start posting regularly again. This blog has proved a far more enjoyable pastime than I’d ever anticipated and I want to keep it up. Thanks for bearing with me in my absence. I hope that your February went more smoothly than mine. Happy reading!

One response »

Leave a Reply

