Things I’m Currently Reading: November Edition

Standard

Gorgeous October has ended in a rush of wind and rain (and no power for two days). I’ve had a few days off work thanks to Hurricane Sandy, and they’ve been far more productive than I could ever anticipated. This could, of course, have something to do with my disabling Facebook until December.

Yes, folks, this is the big month. NaNoWriMo is finally here. I’m not going to touch social networking until it’s done. Truthfully, my exit from the facebook scene for the first time in eight years was precipitated by a comment from a student. “Ms. M,” he said, “Last summer I boycotted my computer for a month. It was the happiest month of my life.”

Indeed. I can’t, obviously, leave my computer behind completely during the school year. I can, however, indulge my increasingly Luddite tendencies to the benefit of my production, work life, and soon to exist novel draft by ridding myself of the biggest online temptation I have.  I’ll be writing a LOT- my goal is 25,000 words by November 30th (secretly 50,000, but since 1984 goes up in about two weeks that’s going to be a hard sell), and hopefully that will include more time spent with this site. I’ve missed it during the October madness.

Enough blather. On to the main event- what’s been on my shelves this month. Happy NaNoWriMo to all!

Daily spiritual reading-

  1. The Bible (via http://jordanville.org)
  2. Elder Ambrose of Optina, Sergius Chetverikov

Pleasure reading-

  1.  Outlander, Diana Gabaldon
  2. Good Night, Mr. Tom, Michelle Magorian (reread)
  3. Orthodoxy and Heterodoxy, Fr. Andrew Stephen Damick
  4. The Girl Who Stopped Swimming, Joshilyn Jackson (audio book)

Work-

  1. The Pushcart War, Jean Merrill
  2. Freeing Shakespeare’s Voice, Kristen Linklater

Books that have been on hold, but want to finish-

  1. The Shipping News, E. Annie Proulx
  2. To the Lighthouse, Virginia Woolf
  3. Cold Sassy Tree, Olive Ann Burns
  4. The Gulag Archipelago, Aleksandr Solzhenitsyn (but I WILL finish it)

Just finished-

  1. Ready Player One, Ernest Cline
  2. Call the Midwife, Jennifer Worth
  3. Hermitess Photini, Archimandrite Joachim Spetsieris
  4. Espresso Tales, Alexander McCall Smith (audio book)
  5. Fragile Things, Neil Gaiman (audio book)
  6. Playing for Pizza, John Grisham (audio book- can you tell I drive a lot?)
  7. The Other Woman, Jane Green

Stopped because I couldn’t take it anymore-

1. The Happiness Project, Gretchen Rubin (if by “couldn’t take” you mean “lost the copy my mother borrowed from the library”)

Next up-

  1. Comedy of Errors, William Shakespeare (still need to cut it down for work)
  2. The Lightning Thief, Rick Riordan (the kiddos insist that seeing the movie is not enough, and I am sure they’re right)
  3. My brand new book:by Archimandrite Irinei

Stay warm this month, and happy reading!

Leave a Reply

