Things I’m Currently Reading- September Edition

Standard

interactive bulletin board

Fall is my favorite time of year, hands down. I’m sick of summer heat, ready to roll up my sleeves and dive back into life. (Did I just equate work with life?)

The new school year has begun, and I’m loving it so far. The end of August was a mad rush- first to Houston, then into orientation and learning to drive stick (ai yaaaaaaaaa). All the changes have been good for me. I’m sleeping much better now that my days are full. They’re going to get a lot fuller before the year’s out, so I’m taking advantage of the relative calm to get as much reading done as I can. Most of it’s of the work variety, but since I’m teaching English and theater it might as well be for fun.

The bulletin board allows my students to write up what they’re currently reading for pleasure. So if you needed to know what an 11-14 year old might be interested in reading, here’s a quick list:

BreakawayChokeTangerineAlex RiderThe Maze RunnerSeeds of RebellionThe Scorch TrialsThe GiverThe Exceptionals, and Swindle.

And of course, if you want to know what a mid twenties Orthodox teacher might be reading, here’s my list!

Daily spiritual reading-

watched over by friendly hand puppets

The Pushcart War watched over by friendly hand puppets

  1. Elder Barsanuphius of Optina, Victor Afanasiev (nearly there!)
  2. The Bible. (back to work = back to http://jordanville.org)

Pleasure reading-

  1.  About A Boy, Nick Hornby (reread)
  2. The Shipping News, E. Annie Proulx

Work-

  1. Playwrights at Work, ed. John Dahr
  2. The Empty Space, Peter Brook
  3. 1984, Robert Owens, Wilton E. Hall, Jr, and William A. Miles, Jr.
  4. The Mousetrap, Agatha Christie
  5. Poetry 180, ed. Billy Collins
  6. The Pushcart War, Jean Merrill

Books that have been on hold, but want to finish- (unchanged again, but it’s been shorter than usual)

  1. With Pain and Love for Contemporary Man, Elder Paisios
  2. The Private Life of Chairman Mao, Dr. Li Zhisui
  3. Miracles, C.S. Lewis
  4. To the Lighthouse, Virginia Woolf

Just finished-

  1. The Firm, John Grisham (reread)
  2. Almost, Maine, John Cariani (play)
  3. Schooled, Gordon Korman
  4. Okay for Now, Gary D. Schmidt

Stopped because I couldn’t take it anymore-

1. The Associate, John Grisham (disgusting- how can you expect us to like the protagonist after that intro?)

Next up-

  1. Comedy of Errors, William Shakespeare (still need to cut it down for work)
  2. War and Peace, Leo Tolstoy
  3. Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy, Douglas Adams
  4. Some of My Best Friends are Black: The Strange Story of Integration in America, Tanner Colby
Leave a Reply

