Things I’m currently reading- August Edition

Standard

Hot springs!Mm, steamy August.  Isn’t it strange that as soon as this month begins, you feel like summer’s over? You should be hauling out sweaters and school books. In reality, there’s well over a month till my beloved Fall kicks in.

Sorry this one’s so late, guys! I got back from an amazing (stressful) trip to Beijing very early on August 4th. I spent about five days recovering from jet lag, then hit New York to buy plays for my new job (!!!) that starts in just a few weeks. It’s been an absolutely wonderful month. Sure, there have been a few bumps. All in all, I felt more like myself than I have in ages. I’m also happy to report that my Mandarin came right back, and I received a number of sincere compliments,  even while my inner Chinese teacher was criticizing my tones.

Book-wise, this was one of the lightest reading months I’ve had in ages because there was simply no time while we were in Beijing. I spent most of our transit time journaling, with good personal results. Fear not, with the number of books I have to get through for school I’ll have to make it up this month. This list covers July and the first part of August.

Daily spiritual reading-

  1. Elder Barsanuphius of Optina, Victor Afanasiev (still taking a long time)
  2. The Bible. (now with actual book! Hooray for no internet at home!)
  3. Book of lectures from an Orthodox women’s conference

Pleasure reading-

  1.  The Prestige, Christopher Priest
  2. The Gulag Archipelago, Alexander Solzhenitsyn (picking it up again)

Work-

  1. Playwrights at Work, ed. John Dahr
  2. Almost, Maine, John Cariani
  3. The Endless Steppe, Esther Hautzig

Books that have been on hold, but want to finish- (no, this list has not changed)

  1. With Pain and Love for Contemporary Man, Elder Paisios
  2. The Private Life of Chairman Mao, Dr. Li Zhisui I biked 11.5 km around this wall in a dress. I am awesome.
  3. Miracles, C.S. Lewis
  4. To the Lighthouse, Virginia Woolf

Just finished-

  1. Under the Dome, Stephen King
  2. The Wise Man’s Fear, Patrick Rothfuss
  3. The Crucible, Arthur Miller (reread)
  4. The BFG, David Wood (play version)
  5. Miss Lonelyhearts, Howard Teichmann (play)
  6. Broken Hearts, Greta Berghammer and Rod Caspers (play)
  7. Insurgent, Veronica Roth

Stopped because I couldn’t take it anymore-

1. N/A – Hooray!

Next up-

  1. Comedy of Erros, William Shakespeare (need to cut it down for work)
  2. Anna Karenina, Leo Tolstoy
  3. A Steinbeck, because I have a bunch on my kindle and need to stretch my brain
  4. The rest of the books I’ll be teaching this year- yikes!

What was on your summer reading list? That’s all I’ve got.  See you next time!

About suziereads

Twenty something Orthodox Christian living in Boston. Avid reader of spiritual and other types of books. I like quotes, bookstores, Shakespeare, chai, all things Russian, and China. I also spend an inordinate amount of time at Starbucks.

One response »

  1. Pingback: Best Pressed Sunday~My Favorite Posts From Fellow Pressers « Traveling*Indie*Writer*Chick

Leave a Reply

