Things I’m Currently Reading- July Edition

Standard

Happy July, everyone! Wow, a “Things I’m Currently Reading” on time, for once! This was a pretty mixed month, reading wise. I read an incredible amount of trash, mixed with an almost equal amount of really high quality stuff.

In the personal realm, even with my boyfriend away in Moscow, June was a wonderful month overall-  full of friends, travel, and really yummy vegan food.  After being unemployed and underemployed for nearly two years, I got three offers for different things within a  few weeks.   My favorite offer that I’ll have to defer was my acceptance into the Master of Divinity program at Holy Cross Hellenic College.  Oh, to be a feminarian! Regrettably, it makes no financial sense to go at this point.  I plan to defer for a year and reevaluate next spring. However, I’m very much looking forward to teaching theater this year- though the reality of planning for three classes and three shows is starting to sink in.

In a few weeks I’m off to Beijing, so keep an eye out for my travel reading list. Here’s to another beautiful summer month!

Daily spiritual reading-

  1. Elder Barsanuphius of Optina, Victor Afanasiev (still taking a long time)
  2. The Bible. (now with actual book! Hooray for no internet at home!)
  3. The Hermitess Photini (when I’m too tired for Elder Barsanuphius)

Pleasure reading-

  1.  Lady Almina and the Real Downton Abbey, the Countess of Carnarvon
  2. The Gulag Archipelago, Alexander Solzhenitsyn (pleasure being a strong word, here)
  3. Guitar Girl, Sarra Manning (reread)

Work-

  1. A BUNCH of plays

Books that have been on hold, but want to finish- (no, this list has not changed)

  1. With Pain and Love for Contemporary Man, Elder Paisios
  2. The Private Life of Chairman Mao, Dr. Li Zhisui
  3. Miracles, C.S. Lewis
  4. To the Lighthouse, Virginia Woolf
  5. Under the Dome, Stephen King (WHICH WAS ON MY KINDLE GRRR)

Just finished-

  1. Sloppy Firsts, Megan McCaffrey
  2. Second Helpings, Megan McCaffrey
  3. Charmed Thirds, Megan McCaffrey
  4. Fourth Comings, Megan McCaffrey (they’re kinda like popcorn- but smart popcorn!)
  5. Wuthering Heights, Emily Bronte
  6. Breakfast at Tiffany’s, Truman Capote
  7. Unorthodox: The Scandalous Rejection of My Hasidic Roots, Deborah Feldman
  8. A Clockwork Orange, Anthony Burgess
  9. Can You Keep A Secret?, Sophie Kinsella (reread- don’t do that to yourself)
  10. A Prayer for Owen Meany, John Irving
  11. Say the Word, Jeannine Garsee

Stopped because I couldn’t take it anymore-

1. Where I Belong, Gwendolyn Heasley (not with Corrinne, that’s for sure)

Next up-

  1. A Shakespeare- I WILL read one this month. If only for work. Plus Twelfth Night again.
  2. Insurgent, Veronica Roth (ok- I actually started it- and didn’t like it. But I’ll give it another shot!)
  3. Adorkable, Sarra Manning (still love her!)
  4. The Wise Man’s Fear, Patrick Rothfuss
  5. Anna Karenina, Leo Tolstoy
One response »

Leave a Reply

