Things I’m Currently Reading- June edition

Standard

Bittersweet June. My beloved Adorable Hipster Boyfriend is in Moscow till August. Dislike.

HOWEVER.

I have excruciatingly good news. After two years of being unemployed, underemployed, and partially employed, yours truly will be starting a REAL LIVE SALARIED FULL TIME JOB at the end of August!

(ahem)

AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I cannot even begin to tell you what a weight this is off my shoulders. Best of all, it’s a job I’m actually looking forward to! I want to do it! I think it’ll be fun!

To clarify- I’m accepting a position as the theater director at a private Christian school outside of Boston. I’ll be directing three productions, teaching two theater classes and two English classes. I’ll have my own office, which is full of lights and costumes and is right next to the spaces I’ll be using.

In other news, I spent four/five days at Holy Trinity Monastery over Pentecost, hanging with friends, going to a lot of church, reflecting, and meeting lovely baby Lucy, my dear friends Kate and Pete’s new arrival. I also met another lovely Boston book blogger, Jen. We swapped recommendations and generally had a great time in the North End. Next week I’ll be in Minnesota. Oh, and in July I’ll be spending three weeks in my second hometown of Beijing with a group of students. Glory to God for all things.

You’ll hear all about that, and my apartment/car hunt later. Let’s get to the good stuff.

Daily spiritual reading-

  1. Elder Barsanuphius of Optina, Victor Afanasiev (this is taking a long time)
  2. The Bible. (Usually via http://jordanville.org – have fallen off the wagon)
  3. The Hermitess Photini (when I’m too tired for Elder Barsanuphius- he’s been kind of intense lately)

Pleasure reading-

  1. Wuthering Heights, Emily Bronte
  2. Sloppy Firsts, Megan McCafferty (reread)
  3. Elder Ambrose of Optina, Sergius Chetverikov
  4. The Princess Bride, William Goldman (reread)

Work-

  1. A BUNCH of plays

Books that have been on hold, but want to finish-

  1. With Pain and Love for Contemporary Man, Elder Paisios
  2. The Private Life of Chairman Mao, Dr. Li Zhisui
  3. Miracles, C.S. Lewis
  4. To the Lighthouse, Virginia Woolf
  5. Under the Dome, Stephen King

Just finished-

  1. Object Lessons, Anna Quindlen
  2. The Name of the Wind, Patrick Rothfuss (SO GOOD)
  3. Sophie Scholl and the White Rose,
  4. The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, Stieg Larsson
  5. The Girl Who Played With Fire, Stieg Larsson
  6. An Uncommon Education, Elizabeth Percer

Stopped because I couldn’t take it anymore-

1. None! Except that I chose to stop reading The Milennium Trilogy.

Next up-

  1. Lady Almina and the Real Downton Abbey, the Countess of Carnarvon
  2. Another of the 30 before 30 books
  3. A Shakespeare- I still have 6 plays left.
  4. Insurgent, Veronica Roth (Divergent was one of the best dystopian YA novels I’ve read in a loooooong time)
  5. Adorkable, Sarra Manning (love her!)
  6. The Wise Man’s Fear, Patrick Rothfuss

And I MUST start planning some books for all of my upcoming trips. Happy reading, y’all.

About suziereads

Twenty something Orthodox Christian living in Boston. Avid reader of spiritual and other types of books. I like quotes, bookstores, Shakespeare, chai, all things Russian, and China. I also spend an inordinate amount of time at Starbucks.

Leave a Reply

