Things I’m Currently Reading- May Edition

Standard

May already, can you believe it?

April has been both a difficult and triumphant month personally.  I lost my aunt, I finished up my contract at my school, and my immediate family’s recurring issues have been, well, recurring. However, I also sent in a graduate school application, had several interviews, and led the choir/readings for a church service for the first time (Royal Hours- Holy Friday).

Best of all, one of my dearest friends had a baby, and I started a new relationship. He’s lovely and treats me very well, though I have to watch my grammar a bit more now (English majors…).

Looking over the April Edition, I followed through on many of the tasks I set for myself. No, I didn’t get through most of the books I listed. The Pillars of the Earth has proved to be one of those tomes best read in actual book (as opposed to kindle) form. However, I did revisit many of my favorite bookstores, completed the CS Lewis, started to move away from chick lit (thank goodness!), and began reading actual paperbacks again.  There are a number of books I’ve been picking up and putting down, but hey, it was Lent.

Not bad, April. Now let’s tackle May.

Daily spiritual reading-

  1. Elder Barsanuphius of Optina, Victor Afanasiev (this is taking a long time)
  2. The Bible. (Usually via http://jordanville.org)

Pleasure reading-

  1. To the Lighthouse, Virginia Woolf
  2. An Uncommon Education, Elizabeth Percer
  3. Object Lessons, Anna Quindlen
  4. Under the Dome, Stephen King

Work-

  1. N/A

Books that have been on hold, but want to finish-

  1. With Pain and Love for Contemporary Man, Elder Paisios
  2. The Private Life of Chairman Mao, Dr. Li Zhisui
  3. Miracles, C.S. Lewis

Just finished-

  1. The Red Queen, Philippa Gregory
  2. Dash and Lily’s Book of Dares, Rachel Cohn and David Levithan
  3. Along for the Ride, Sarah Dessen
  4. That Summer, Sarah Dessen
  5. The Hunger Games Trilogy, Suzanne Collins (yes, again.)

Stopped because I couldn’t take it anymore-

  1. Black Mass, Dick Lehr (we know what happens, and half my kids are using it to write papers)
  2. Perfect Match, Jodi Picoult (oh my gosh, I HATED this book.)

Next up-

  1. A spiritual book that has a narrative (possibly Beauty for Ashes, as mentioned in an earlier post)
  2. The Corrections, Jonathan Franzen
  3. Breakfast at Tiffany’s, Truman Capote
  4. A Shakespeare- I still have 6 plays left.
  5. Insurgent, Veronica Roth (Divergent was one of the best dystopian YA novels I’ve read in a loooooong time)
Leave a Reply

